MINUTES OF THE CAMBRIDGE CITY COUNCIL PRELIMINARY SCREENING COMMITTEE September 13, 2016

Councillor David P. Maher and Personnel Director Sheila Keady Rawson, Co-Chairs of the Preliminary Screening Committee, appointed by Mayor Simmons, charged with assisting the City Council with the process of selecting a new City Manager held an all-day meeting on Tuesday, September 13, 2016 at the Sonesta Hotel, 40 Edwin Land Boulevard, Cambridge, MA beginning at 8:45 a.m. in the Skyline Room.

The purpose of the meeting was to conduct confidential interviews with the candidates for the position of City Manager. Due to the highly confidential nature of the process and in accordance with the Massachusetts Open Meeting law, the Preliminary Screening Committee convened in a public meeting and intended to vote to move into Executive Session for significant portions of the meeting.

Present at the meeting were Councillor David Maher, Councillor Leland Cheung, Councillor Nadeem Mazen, Councillor Timothy J. Toomey, Jr., Sheila Keady-Rawson, Director of Personnel, Peter Traversy, Elaine Thorne, Laura Booth, Jay Kiely, Patrick Magee, Richard Harding, School Committee Member, Gerald Reardon, Chief of the Cambridge Fire Department, Fred Fantini, School Committee Member, Claude Jacob, Chief Public Health Officer, Cambridge Public Health Department, Susan Schlesinger, Kevin Casey, Ellen Semonoff, Assistant City Manager for Human Services, Susan Connelly, Elaine DeRosa, Reverend Lorraine Thornhill, Heidi Voorhees, President, Joellen Earl, Chief Executive Officer, GovHR USA, Sandra Albano, Executive Assistant to the City Council, and Paula M. Crane, Deputy City Clerk.

The meeting convened at 8:47 a.m. Councillor Maher read the Call of the Meeting and gave instructions on Executive Session.

Motion to move to Executive Session was made by Mr. Magee at 8:52 a.m.

The question now came on the motion and the roll was called and resulted as follows:

YEAS: Mr. Traversy, Ms. Thorne, Ms. Booth,

Mr. Kiely, Mr. Magee, Mr. Harding, Mr. Reardon, Mr. Fantini, Mr. Jacob

Ms. Schlesinger, Mr. Casey, Ms. Semonoff, Ms. Connelly, Ms. DeRosa, Reverend Thornhill, Councillors Cheung, Maher,

and Toomey -18

NAYS: None -0

ABSENT: Councillor Mazen -1

and the motion was -

Adopted.

Interviews were conducted with three candidates.

The committee discussed the three candidates along with potential strengths and weaknesses of each candidates.

Councillor Maher stated that after detailed discussion, the consensus is to move forward three candidates to the next step in the process.

A motion was made by Mr. Magee to adjourn executive session.

The question now came on the motion and the roll was called and resulted as follows:

YEAS: Mr. Traversy, Ms. Thorne, Ms. Booth,

Mr. Kiely, Mr. Magee, Mr. Harding, Mr. Reardon, Mr. Fantini, Mr. Jacob

Ms. Schlesinger, Mr. Casey, Ms. Semonoff, Ms. Connelly, Ms. DeRosa, Reverend Thornhill, Councillors Cheung, Maher, Mazen and Toomey -19

NAYS: None -0

ABSENT: None -0

and the motion was -

Adopted.

Councillor Maher made a motion to adjourn at 4:25 p.m.

The motion carried on a voice vote.

Councillor David Maher, Co-Chair
Preliminary Screening Committee

Sheila Keady-Rawson, Co-Chair

Sheila Keady-Rawson, Co-Chair Preliminary Screening Committee

For the Committee,