Cambridge Civic Calendar
as of Friday, May 26, 2017 9:56 PM

Official City of Cambridge Calendar

Open Meeting Portal

Cambridge City Council (City website)

City Council Committees - scheduled meetings and links to committee reports

School Committee page

Current School Committee Calendar (with links to agendas)

Community Development Department Calendar (use City Category menu)

Send announcements, corrections, and suggestions to Calendar2017@rwinters.com.


Tues, May 30

4:30pm   The City Council's Public Safety Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the role of police officers in the community, the installation of a police substation in Central Square and the stationing of a uniformed police officer in City Hall.  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, May 31

3:30pm   The City Council's Ordinance Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss City Council proposed zoning amendments to create a new chapter to regulate short-term rentals. This hearing to be televised.  (Sullivan Chamber)


Thurs, June 1

5:30pm   The City Council's Neighborhood and Long Term Planning, Public Facilities, Arts and Celebrations Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the open data portal, an update from the open data review board, and future opportunities for open data in Cambridge.  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, June 5

5:30pm   City Council Roundtable/Working Meeting to discuss Envision Cambridge citywide, including the Alewife planning. No public comment. No votes will be taken. Meeting will not be televised.  (Sullivan Chamber)

Tues, June 6

3:30pm   The City Council's Ordinance Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss a proposed amendment to the Municipal Code in Title 6 entitled ”Animals” to insert a new Chapter 6.20 entitled “Restrictions on the sale of Animals in Pet Shops.”  (Sullivan Chamber)

6:30pm   Planning Board meeting  (2nd Floor Meeting Room, City Hall Annex, 344 Broadway)

Agenda includes a discussion and project update of Envision Cambridge.

Wed, June 7

12:30pm   The City Council's Neighborhood and Long Term Planning, Public Facilities, Arts and Celebrations Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the reappointment of Kathleen L. Born to the Cambridge Redevelopment Authority (CRA) for a term of five years.  (Sullivan Chamber)

Thurs, June 8

6:00-8:30pm   Envision Cambridge Alewife Working Group meeting  (Russell Youth Center, 680 Huron Avenue, 2nd floor Community Room)

Mon, June 12

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Tues, June 13

4:00pm   The City Council's Public Safety Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the various forms and mediums of communication between residents and the city, to include Commonwealth Connects, and how the Council may prioritize critical issues for data collection and reporting, also the Committee will discuss Order #11 of Oct 31, 2016 regarding the creation of a Commonwealth Connects category for residents negatively impacted by short-term rental activity; Order #8 of Apr 24, 2017 regarding creating a report system for mosquito harborage; and also bicycle-safety related incidents that would not generate a crash-report.  (Ackermann Room)

Wed, June 14

8:00am-9:30am   Recycling Advisory Committee  (Sullivan Chamber, City Hall)

2:00pm   The City Council's Human Services and Veterans Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the current opioid crisis on a state and local level, and what programs and plans exist to combat this epidemic.  (Sullivan Chamber)

4:30pm   The City Council's Economic Development and University Relations Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the final recommendations from Larisa Ortiz Associates in regards to the Retail Strategic Plan, as well as policy and programmatic opportunities related to the retail environment in Cambridge.  (Sullivan Chamber)

Thurs, June 15

9:00-11:30am   Envision Cambridge Economy Working Group meeting  (2nd Floor Meeting Room, City Hall Annex, 344 Broadway)

6:00-8:30pm   Envision Cambridge Housing Working Group meeting  (2nd Floor Meeting Room, City Hall Annex, 344 Broadway)

Mon, June 19

5:00pm   Special Presentation - A Celebration of Cambridge Volunteers  (Sullivan Chamber)

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

6:00-8:30pm   Envision Cambridge Climate & Environment Working Group meeting  (4th Floor Conference Room, City Hall Annex, 344 Broadway)

Wed, June 21

1:00pm   The City Council's Neighborhood and Long Term Planning, Public Facilities, Arts and Celebrations Committee will conduct a public hearing to discuss the next steps for the Foundry Building including: financing, community benefit, non-profit ecosystem, and community engagement.  (Sullivan Chamber)

6:00-8:30pm   Envision Cambridge Mobility Working Group meeting  (Central Square Senior Center)

Mon, June 26

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, July 12

6:00-8:00pm   Envision Cambridge Advisory Committee meeting  (Citywide Senior Center, 806 Mass. Ave.)

Discussion topic: community interaction


Mon, Aug 7

5:30pm   Special (Midsummer) City Council meeting  (Dr. Henrietta S. Attles Meeting Room, CRLS, 459 Broadway)

Wed, Aug 23

6:00-8:00pm   Envision Cambridge Advisory Committee meeting  (4th Floor Meeting Room, City Hall Annex, 344 Broadway)

Discussion topic: corridor visioning and analysis


Mon, Sept 11

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, Sept 13

8:00am-9:30am   Recycling Advisory Committee  (Sullivan Chamber, City Hall)

6:00-8:00pm   Envision Cambridge Advisory Committee meeting  (Citywide Senior Center, 806 Mass. Ave.)

Discussion topic: present focus area working group recommendations, review and comment

Mon, Sept 18

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Sept 25

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)


Mon, Oct 2

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, Oct 11

8:00am-9:30am   Recycling Advisory Committee  (Sullivan Chamber, City Hall)

Mon, Oct 16

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Oct 23

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Oct 30

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)


Mon, Nov 6

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, Nov 8

8:00am-9:30am   Recycling Advisory Committee  (Sullivan Chamber, City Hall)

Mon, Nov 13

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Nov 20

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Nov 27

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)


Mon, Dec 4

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Mon, Dec 11

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)

Wed, Dec 13

8:00am-9:30am   Recycling Advisory Committee  (Sullivan Chamber, City Hall)

Mon, Dec 18

5:30pm   City Council meeting  (Sullivan Chamber)


Return to CCJ website: www.rwinters.com

Past Calendar Listings

If you just want to go for a walk and skip the civics:
AMC Local Walks
- http://amcboston.org/walks