MINUTES OF THE CAMBRIDGE CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEE

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2023

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Kathleen Born, Chair

Kaleb Abebe

Jessica DeJesus Acevedo

Mosammat Faria Afreen

Nikolas Bowie

Kevin Chen

Max Clermont

Jennifer Gilbert

Kai Long

Patrick Magee

Mina Makarious

Lisa Peterson

Ellen Shachter

Susan Shell

Jim Stockard

The Cambridge Charter Review Committee held a meeting on Tuesday, November 7, 2023. The meeting was called to order at approximately 5:30p.m. by the Chair of the Committee, Kathleen Born. Pursuant to Chapter 2 of the Acts of 2023 adopted by Massachusetts General Court and approved by the Governor, this meeting was remote via Zoom.

At the request of the Chair, Clerk of Committees Erwin called the roll.

Kaleb Abebe – Present

Jessica DeJesus Acevedo - Present

Mosammat Faria Afreen – Present

Nikolas Bowie – Absent*

Kevin Chen – Present

Max Clermont - Present

Jennifer Gilbert – Absent

Kai Long – Absent

Patrick Magee – Present

Mina Makarious – Absent

Lisa Peterson – Present

Ellen Shachter – Present

Susan Shell – Present

Jim Stockard - Present

Kathleen Born – Present

Present – 11, Absent – 4. Quorum established.

*Member Nikolas Bowie was marked present at 5:36p.m.

The Chair, Kathleen Born recognized member Jim Stockard who made a motion to adopt the meeting minutes from October 24, 2023.

Clerk of Committees Erwin called the roll.

Kaleb Abebe – Yes

Jessica DeJesus Acevedo – Yes

Mosammat Faria Afreen – Yes

Nikolas Bowie – Absent

Kevin Chen – Yes

Max Clermont – Yes

Jennifer Gilbert – Absent

Kai Long – Absent

Patrick Magee – Present

Mina Makarious – Absent

Lisa Peterson – Yes

Ellen Shachter - Yes

Susan Shell – Yes

Jim Stockard – Yes

Kathleen Born - Yes

Yes -10, No -0, Present -1, Absent -4. Motion passed.

The Chair, Kathleen Born noted that there were two communications received from Committee members. The Chair recognized member Susan Shell who offered additional comments relative to the communication they submitted.

The Chair, Kathleen Born recognized member Ellen Shachter who made a motion to adopt communications received from Committee members and the public.

Clerk of Committees Erwin called the roll.

Kaleb Abebe – Yes

Jessica DeJesus Acevedo – Yes

Mosammat Faria Afreen – Yes

Nikolas Bowie – Yes

Kevin Chen – Yes

Max Clermont – Yes

Jennifer Gilbert – Absent

Kai Long – Absent

Patrick Magee – Yes

Mina Makarious – Absent

Lisa Peterson – Yes

Ellen Shachter - Yes

Susan Shell – Yes

Jim Stockard – Yes

Kathleen Born – Yes

Yes -12, No -0, Absent -3. Motion passed.

The Chair, Kathleen Born opened Public Comment.

Stephen C shared their excitement for resident assemblies and even year elections and spoke in support of a Mayor-CAFO-Council form of government.

Anna Corning shared with Committee members that the beginning of the meeting was to reopen the discussion on Mayor-CAFO-Council versus City Manager-Mayor-Council form of government. Anna Corning recognized Committee members who offered comments and concerns. Anna Corning shared that Committee members Kai Long and Jennifer Gilbert, who were both absent, had submitted emails sharing they would be in favor of a strong Mayor form of government.

Anna Corning requested a straw poll be done on Mayor-CAFO-Council versus City Manager-Mayor-Council form of government. Seven members voted in favor of a Mayor-CAFO-Council form of government, five members voted in favor of City Manager-Mayor-Council form of government, and three members were recorded as absent.

Anna Corning recognized Committee members to share additional comments on form of government and the straw poll. Committee members shared concerns on what it would look like for the Committee during the remainder of the year based on the results of the straw poll. Michael Ward from the Collins Center and Anna Corning offered suggestions on how the Collins Center and the Committee could use their remaining time on the Committee to put together additional and new language with a Mayor-CAFO-Council form of government to submit to the Council. Michael Ward and Patricia Lloyd from the Collins Center made themselves available to respond to questions brought forward by members of the Committee.

Anna Corning shared on her screen the proposed draft language for the Charter that the Committee has been working on over the past months. Anna Corning reviewed what changes in the language would have to be made due to the Committee being more in favor of a Mayor-CAFO-Council form of government. Committee members were recognized for questions and comments. The team from the Collins Center were available to provide feedback and suggestions.

Anna Corning noted shared that there will most likely be votes that will have to be retaken based on the straw poll decision that was made tonight. Anna Corning shared that she would review which votes would have to be retaken and introduce them at upcoming meetings and noted that there was one vote that could be retaken at tonight's meeting.

The Chair, Kathleen Born recognized member Kaleb Abebe who made a motion to adopt drafting new Charter text.

Clerk of Committees Erwin called the roll.

Kaleb Abebe – Yes Jessica DeJesus Acevedo – Yes Mosammat Faria Afreen – Yes Nikolas Bowie – Absent Kevin Chen – Yes Max Clermont – Absent Jennifer Gilbert – Absent
Kai Long – Absent
Patrick Magee – Yes
Mina Makarious – Absent
Lisa Peterson – Yes
Ellen Shachter – Yes
Susan Shell – Yes
Jim Stockard – Yes
Kathleen Born – Yes
Yes – 10, No – 0, Absent – 5. Motion passed.

The Charter Review Committee adjourned at approximately 7:47p.m.

Clerk's Note: The City of Cambridge/22 City View records every City Council meeting and every City Council Committee meeting. This is a permanent record. The video for this meeting can be viewed:

https://cambridgema.granicus.com/player/clip/610?view_id=1&redirect=true&h=126c4ae8044c93e0cc8e3c079b199289